advertisement

Instagram Adds New Features To Bolster Security & Send Pics That Disappear After One View

advertisement
Instagram

Instagram’s latest update focuses on security with a Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) system now available. Instagram also added a ‘One View’ feature to the Instagram Direct messaging service.

advertisement

In a bid to better protect user’s data Instagram now offers a 2FA option to log into one’s account. As we reported when Whatsapp started offering 2FA, the feature adds extra protection in addition to your password. Every time you try to log into your account from a different device you’ll be required to enter an SMS code in addition to your password and email.

advertisement

After you’ve turned on two-factor authentication, you’ll be able to access backup codes for your account. If you don’t receive an SMS security code during the two-factor authentication login process, you’ll still be able to log into your account by using a backup code. Users must note that you need an active mobile phone number since you’ll receive the codes via SMS.

The service is a bit different to the one offered by Whatsapp in that you do not get to chose your own 6-digit code and Instagram also sends you backup codes that they encourage you to take a screenshot of (I’m not sure how safe that is).

One downside to the 2FA system is Facebook has recently been sending spam to users once they have entered their number activating 2FA on Facebook. Gabriel Lewis, a software engineer in the US received a notification about posts from other people on the number he had used during 2FA authentication. I mentioned this Facebook incident because as you may or may not know Instagram is owned by Facebook.

One View

The other new feature I saw when testing out Instagram was the ‘One View’ feature. I’m not sure if that’s the actual name but that’s what I’m calling it until I know what’s what. This feature allows users to send a picture that will disappear from the chat once the receiver has viewed it.

To send a picture/video that disappears after being viewed, open the Direct Camera in your inbox and select the ‘One View’ feature. Users also have an option to ‘Allow Replay’ which enables the receiver to see the contents of that image or video for 24 hours.

The ‘one View’ feature is identical to how images are viewed on Snapchat and it seems Facebook will not rest until they have copied and revised all of the Snapchat features.


Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, click here to enter your query.


WhatsApp Discussions

Click to join a Techzim WhatsApp group:
https://chat.whatsapp.com/F4jAaCRXoPG3jYHhxDXmZt

If you find the group full, please notify us on +263 715 071 199 and we'll update the link.