This new feature is something we have been waiting for for ages and it seems we are close to getting it now. The feature, which is being called Delete For Everyone is being tested on WhatsApp Beta. It will be available on both Android and iOS.
Delete for everyone is essentially just a revoke message option. This allows users to recall a message they have sent. This works because the message is deleted right from WhatsApp servers. Have you ever sent a message and regretted it immediately? If you have ever sent a message to the wrong person then you know how huge this feature is.
When the message is deleted a new message is put in it’s place telling the person that you had sent the message to that the message has been deleted. The original message is removed from your chat history and the recipient’s. Even in their notification centre the message will be replaced with a ‘This message has been deleted’ notification.
As it is being tested, there is no option for the recipient to not see that there is a message that has been deleted. Imagine seeing the ‘This message has been deleted’ notification, would that not make you more curious? This may lead you to assume the worst as you speculate as to what the message said. Let us hope in the future the message will just be deleted and no notification is given to the recipient.
Delete for everyone works for both messages that have been read and those that have not. For messages that had been already read the goal would be to remove the message from record. That however could be foiled by the humble screenshot. I foresee an increase in number of screenshots taken by people trying to make sure important messages are not revoked on them.
To combat screenshotting WhatsApp could resort to copying Snapchat, yet again. They could notify you if someone screenshots your conversation. This would bring its own problems but it would be something.
What do you think about this Delete For Everyone feature? Do we even need it? Let us know what you think in the comments below.